I Didn’t Know

They talked over a cup of coffee, sipping slowly. He looked out of the coffee shop through the window for a while and then looked at her. She sipped the hot coffee and talked to him.

“You look so sad. What happened to you?”

“Me?”

“Yes.”

“You are just kidding me.”

“No. You look so sad, exactly. What happened to you?”

“It’s nothing.” He said. “It may because coffee is too bitter.”

“No, no, no. You love bitter coffee.”

“Don’t worry about it. Let’s talk about the big deal. I would like to tell you the secret. Da’ya want ’ta know?”

“Yes, indeed.” She smiled and leaned on the table, waiting for the secret.

He hesitated, sipping the coffee from a cup, put down the cup on table and looked out of coffee shop.

“What is the secret?” She asked.

He looked at her. She looked at him, waiting for his words.

“I didn’t know I…” He suddenly stopped saying.

“Come on, guy, my dearest friend. Tell me the secret. I need to know.”

“I have no secret. I’m just kidding.” He laughed.

“Gozzzz!!!” She looked at him with a scowl and leaned back in her seat. “You are a fibber”

They laughed for seconds and then he said. “A card, your wedding card. Where is it? Give me at once!”

After she went back home, he still sat on the chair in coffee shop, holding the wedding card in his hand and watching it silently. A waiter asked him if he wanted anything. He said no.

“The secret is…” He murmured. “I didn’t know I love you. I don’t know until you told me you will get marry.”

He sipped the last drop of coffee from the cup and he felt it was too bitter to drink.

 

-THE END-

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

